

## 2022 Annual Meeting of the Ontario Speed Skating Association

Tuesday February 28, 2023 8:00 PM EST via Google Meet

## **DRAFT MINUTES**

In Attendance:

Voting members: Talena Kraus-Barrie, Christine Morrison–Cambridge, Frank Corkery–Gloucester, Will Mason-Hamilton, Simon Barker-Kawartha, Matt Kerwin-Kitchener Waterloo, Jeremy Toth-London, Todd Vernon-Newmarket, Mark O'Donnell-Oakville, Andrew Gimby-Ottawa, Colleen Murphy-Quinte, Natalie Lefort-Sudbury, and Ken George-Toronto.

Board of Directors and Staff- David Butterworth-Chair, Douglas Duncan – Vice Chair, Bernadette Byrne-Treasurer, Mary Frances Carter-Executive Director, and Caleb Caunce – Events and Competition Manager

Guests: Krista Walford BDO, Anastasia Bucsis, Christina Chenard, Shane Lloyd, Nicole VanLierop, and Steven Waslander.

1. Welcome and Opening Comments by the Chair: Mr. David Butterworth

Mr. David Butterworth welcomed everyone to the Ontario Speed Skating Association's online 2022 Annual General Meeting. David introduced the Board of Directors and staff and welcomed Krista Walford, CPA, CA Senior Manager from BDO.

2. Establishment of Quorum, and Confirmation of Voting Delegates

A confirmation of the number of voting members present was announced. There were 13 voting members present. In accordance with our By-Laws, ten voting members in good standing, either present in person or by proxy constitutes quorum

3. Appoint Recording Secretary for the meeting

Motion to approve Mary Frances Carter as the Recording Secretary for the 2022 Annual General Meeting made by Frank Corkery (Gloucester) and seconded by Natalie Lefort (Sudbury). Motion carried.

4. Appoint the Scrutineers for the Meeting

Motion to appoint Mary Frances Carter and Caleb Caunce as the scrutineers for the 2022 Annual General Meeting made by Ken George (Toronto) and Todd Vernon (Newmarket). Motion carried.

5. Approval of the Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda for the 2022 Annual General Meeting held on February 28, 2023 for the Ontario Speed Skating Association as presented made by Simon Barker (Kawartha) and seconded by Colleen Murphy (Quinte). Motion carried.

6. Approval of the 2021 Annual General Meeting Minutes

Motion to approve the Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting of the Ontario Speed Skating Association held on February 21, 2022 as distributed. Motion made by Matt Kerwin (Kitchener-Waterloo) and seconded by Ken George (Toronto). Motion carried.

7. Presentation of the August 31, 2022 Financial Statements

Ms. Krista Walford, CPA, CA Senior Manager, BDO Canada presented the August 31, 2022 Financial Statements.

Motion to receive the Financial Statements for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2022 made by Todd Vernon (Newmarket) and seconded by Ken George (Toronto). Motion carried.

8. Appoint the 2023-2024 Accountants

Motion to appoint BDO Guelph as the accountants for the Ontario Speed Skating Association. Motion made by Mark O'Donnell (Toronto) and seconded by Frank Corkery (Gloucester). Motion carried.

- 9. The OSSA Annual Report will be shared with the members when it is completed.
- 10. Election of new Directors

Motion to elect by ordinary resolution the following Directors for a two-year term: David Butterworth, Bernadette Byrne, Christina Chenard and Anastasia Bucsis. Motion made by Ken George (Toronto)and seconded by Simon Barker (Kawartha). Motion carried.

Closing remarks by David Butterworth (Chair) and Mary Frances Carter (Executive Director)

The meeting ended.