top of page

Regional Meets

image_edited.png

Photo: Jennifer Blakeley

SSO has adopted Speed Skating Canada’s (SSC) modified racing ages and distances from the updated Red Book. SSO remains focused on the need for improved skater and racer development across the province, which includes technique, speed, fitness, and racing tactics.

 

SSO also recognizes the need to welcome and attract new racers at the grassroots level as we strengthen the base of the Speed Skating Ontario pyramid and to provide fun introductory racing opportunities.

Clubs across Ontario are encouraged to host Regional Meets and invite Clubs in their Region and the Flex Region to participate, if they have space. Here are the list of Regions across Ontario for Regional Racing:

East: Ottawa, Gloucester, St. Lawrence, Kingston, Quinte, Kawartha

Central: Durham, Markham, Newmarket, Barrie, Toronto, Brampton

West: Milton, Oakville, Hamilton, Niagara, Cambridge, Kitchener Waterloo, London

Flex: Sudbury, Sault Ste Marie, Thunder Bay

Upcoming Regional Meets:

Ottawa Regional Meet - Sat Sept 23, 2023: Meet Announcement

Kitchener Waterloo WESTERN Regional Meet - Sat Oct 14, 2023 (morning): Meet Announcement

Kitchener Waterloo CENTRAL Regional Meet - Sat Oct 14, 2023 (afternoon): Meet Announcement

Kingston Regional Meet - Sun Oct 22, 2023: Meet Announcement

Quinte Regional Meet - Sun Nov 19, 2023: Meet Announcement 

Markham Regional Meet - Sun Nov 26, 2023: Meet Announcement

Toronto Regional Meet - Sat Dec 30, 2023: Meet Announcement

Sudbury Regional Meet - Fri Jan 5, 2024 (afternoon): Meet Announcement

Kitchener Waterloo Regional Meet - Sat Feb 3, 2024: Meet Announcement

St. Lawrence Regional Meet - Sun Feb 11, 2024: Meet Announcement

Quinte Regional Meet - Sun Jan 21, 2024: Meet Announcement

 

Regional Championship - Hamilton - Sun Mar 24, 2024: Register Here | Meet Announcement | Protocol

Team Relay Challenge - Milton - Sat Apr 13, 2024: Meet Announcement 

Regional Racing Program Resources

Skater's best times 2023-24 - Posted April 1, 2024

Regional Meet Guidelines

Regional Meet Sanction Request

Regional Meet Announcement Template

Regional Meet Recording Spreadsheet

Regional Racing Program Financial Support Request

Reddy Colouring Sheets

Pose 1

Pose 2

Standing

bottom of page